Thank Gods for the #yoga #ashtanga

Deep thought in savasana: moving a big pile of old garbage from one place to another & refusing to truly deal with it, by throwing it away, is like taking a huge dump & refusing the flush the toilet.

IMG_5055

I’d had three days off because my bestie was here Sat & Sun & I didn’t get around to working out early enough on Friday. However I’d been unwise in doing that HIIT so soon Thursday, after straining my right knee in (I think) ninja tuck jumps at some point, earlier in the week. My knee started really aching on Saturday, after we’d walked around a lot. And then when I went to get up to go to the bathroom Sunday, I couldn’t stand up initially. I’d tried putting weight on that leg in an un-optimal angle. It was sore enough that night where I had to toss & turn veeeery carefully.

But then later on it was better enough for us to walk, leisurely. We went to Stumptown Coffee in the Ace Hotel (I hadn’t been before) and up to 23rd Avenue. My concession to babying the knee was that after a post lunch time, window shopping stroll we took bus 15 the rest of the way “home”.

And today in yoga it was fine. I just had to be a tiny bit more careful than usual in the lotus or half lotus poses for that leg. I even did an EPRK, and putting foot to head in backbend didn’t upset my body in the slightest.

I know I won’t go a full week without HIIT, like I’d sworn I’d do, but I’ll try to give it at least 2 or 3 days. I think I need the meditative effects. Even if I feel compelled to add a set or two in the evenings, I really, really should get in the yoga.

 

 

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

