#HIIT and #asana

I needed to take a break from vinyasa anyway, because of the weak spot in my left tricep. That I was born with, but I first hurt it doing – you guessed it – ashtanga, back in the days that gyms had led primary. Actually I’d done my push-ups & abs routine twice over the weekend, with a day’s rest in between. That had 90 push-ups in it, varying formats. Then I took a led primary on Monday night & whammy. For nearly an entire year I had a purple, yellow knot of a hard bruise back there. I was only practicing led twice a week. It’d heal a bit; I’d tear it up again. When I took a six month break from ashtanga to do a TT it finally healed.

So all the hand standing I do during my current “primary+” practice can aggravate it, but that’s the only way I can generate the heart rate & internal excitement necessary to both get a good workout and enjoy myself. (Even if I could get to a group, I couldn’t afford it…)

The main reason I’d like to be able to practice Kapo again is that being able to do a full Second would give me more variety & fun in ashtanga. I love Second. I actually treated myself to a kinesiology mp4 today, which is supposed to help me with this pose in a safe way. I haven’t watched it yet. I’ll report back.

IMG_5694.JPG

30 Day Challenge: Day 6

  • 1st round (50/10) with skipping for a 30-min set
  • 2nd round (50/10), just the #d exercises for a 15-min set
  1. Mountain Climbers
  2. Romanian Deadlift 40lbs
  3. Supergirl Push-up
  4. Split Squat (right) back leg elevated, 20lbs
  5. Split Squat (left)
  6. Russian Kicks
  7. Lunge Kick (right) 20lbs
  8. Lunge Kick (left)
  9. Spiderman Plank feet elevated
  10. Sumo Squat 20lbs, lifting opp knee
  11. Frogger, wide & narrow
  12. Curtsy Lunge (right) 20lbs, move weight down to outside front leg in a bicep curl
  13. Curtsy Lunge (left)
  14. Pike Abs, Reverse Curl
  15. High Knee Twist 20lbs, twisting side to side / Sliders on 2nd round

Love Handle Loser

  • 1 round through with video
  1. Mountain Climbers
  2. Double Abs
  3. High Knees
  4. Double side plank (right)
  5. Double side plank (left)
  6. Monkey Jumps
  7. Tricep leg lifts
  8. Sumo Squats
  9. Low Ab Hold
  10. Sitting Ab Lift 
  11. Bridge Squeeze
  12. Burpee

Asana

About 20-min easy, timed poses, no vinyasa.

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

