I’ve decided to stop dying my hair #toxic #chemicals

I’ve wanted to for a long time. Then I decided to try transitioning to a new coast and new field and discovered the very discouraging realities of age discrimination. Of course, like with practically everything financial, it’s far worse for women than men. I’d been working steadily and lucratively in NYC for so long, I still had the date on my college graduation for the first month of job hunting. I had no idea I’d aged out of “talent & acquisition” relevance.

For awhile, back in NYC, I was spending $230 every 2.5 months on fancy highlights & lowlights. This is the way to go for people who go grey early. It takes a long time… I used to hate sitting in the chair all that time. But your natural color is sort of woven in, so the grays don’t form a solid line of white with the first two weeks of growth. From a health standpoint it’s far superior, because the color is put on little pieces of foil and never touches your scalp directly.

I was due for a visit when I found out my dad was dying, and then I started spending all my money on flights. It was an expensive (minimum $425) short hop from La Guardia to the Manchester airport, but that was the easiest place to pick me up, as it was an easy half hour drive from my parents’ home. Plus, no one would agree to pick me up in Boston so I could take the Boston shuttle, which was a third of the price.

I switched to the box dye, and started using the semi permanent. That way there was a less obvious seam. It still looks like I’m growing a bald patch in the back though, when the hair grows out. that’s because I’ve got a cowlick there and I’m really white in the area.

With this kind of dye, the glop sits right on your skin, soaking in, for a full 20-minutes. All of these chemicals:

Ingredients
Shade 6C: Water/Eau, Hexylene Glycol, Ethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Soytrimonium Chloride, Fragrance/Parfum, Ethoxydiglycol, Oleth-5, C11-15 Pareth-9, Oleth-2, P-Aminophenol, Dilinoleic Acid, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Tall Oil Acid, Erythorbic Acid, Sodium Sulfite, Oleamide Mipa, P-Phenylenediamine, 2-Methylresorcinol, C12-15 Pareth-3, Resorcinol, 4-Amino-2-Hydroxytoluene, 1-Naphthol, Oleth-10, Panthenol, EDTA, Tocopherol, Ascorbic Acid. Color Activating Creme: Water/Eau, Hydrogen Peroxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Steareth-21, Oleth-2, PEG-50 Hydrogenated Palmamide, Oleth-5, Acrylates/Steareth-20 Methacrylate Copolymer, Oleyl Alcohol, Etidronic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Simethicone, Sorbitan Stearate, PEG-40 Stearate, Cellulose Gum. Colortreat Conditioning Treatment: Water/Eau, Bis-Hydroxy/Methoxy Amodimethicone, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Glutamic Acid, Fragrance/Parfum, Benzyl Alcohol, Panthenyl Ethyl Ether, Citric Acid, EDTA, Sodium Chloride, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Panthenol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, MethylchloroisothiazoliNone, MethylisothiazoliNone

I’ve had this little area of skin problem that’s been there for years. The chemicals are probably not helping. I’m currently trying some of Henry’s organic salve on it. Now we can both smell like air fresheners at the same time. And it ends here.

We’ve all figured out that I am never going to transition into a full-time designer with any of the athletic corporations in Portland. I’m too old to be considered if I’m not coming from a direct competitor. There’s no use in my continuing to poison myself in some vain attempt to appear younger or more employable.

 

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

