Enjoying Friday morning in downtown #pdx

First stop was Blick, to stock up on art supplies. Last time I was there I discovered some new brands & tools. Eclipse & circle templates! Iridescent water colors! So exciting. Then I went through some paint & brush inventory at home & did some price comparisons on the website, making a rough shopping list via my online cart. I’m such a Virgo rising / Pisces sun & moon sometimes! Organized creativity…

I just spent the weeks salary, lol, but with membership discounts & a coupon I went from like $144 to $110. I will use it! I used those ellipses the day after I got them.

The crazy thing is I’m using watercolor paper I bought at RISD for this project. It’s archival D’Arches that’s why. 

I still have a few tubes of watercolor paint that are student grade. If I make anymore illustration money I’ll throw them out, cause it’d be nice if my work lasted decades without fading off. Water colors are delicate.

After that I walked south again for a vegan breakfast at Petunia’s, biscuits & gravy again. I’d debated Prasad or Little Big Burger, but I had the time… More than I thought!

My retail job actually cost me money today! Never mind the art supplies, I wouldn’t have spent $5 on the bus or $14 on breakfast if I hadn’t been scheduled 1-6, but they called & said “Neva mind” . Such is the life of an associate. I don’t have to feel bad about it if I ever need to call in sick anyway right?

I was gonna head to Powell’s after this, to look at tarot cards from a research perspective. Charlie ordered 2 or 3 (can’t remember) more decks with a B&N gift card. He’s getting a bit interested too, but I want to look at the deck he might pick as his own, just for the artwork…

Oh what the hell, I can go and take a look at the “dark” one, Deviant Moon. I’ve been downloading images… Might start with XV The Devil. I haven’t yet seen the level of violence I have in mind for that card. I’m picturing something very Caravaggio.

It could be a 3-year project, 78 themed images. Am I assuming I’ll survive (with ever increasing vision help) that long?

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

