Having a #retail #associate gig is like having a bad, #bootycall boyfriend

  1. It never takes your needs into consideration and will not commit to a schedule, regularly summoning & discarding at will.
  2. It expects “passion” but offers as little as possible at all times, in all aspects including salary, non existent perks like transportation reimbursement and creature comforts so that you don’t have to, you know, work in pain. Sure you’re on your feet all day, but don’t even try to stand on the cushy mat behind the counter unless you’re waiting on a customer. Makes you less available servile, supposedly.

I walked in the door at 12:25pm, having spent half the day on an errand that should’ve / could’ve been worked into a downtown visit with Charlie and taking up all of one half-hour. The end of my commute was a half hour walk up the sidewalk-less, shoulder-less Dosch Road, in the rain, because this isn’t a time I could either take the 51 or ask C to pick me up. But the worst part is that my $109 art supply run should’ve been covered about 60% by today’s earnings. What if I had needed that money for groceries? The corporation doesn’t care.

I minded the walk less than usual because I’d already planned on not exercising today and I have no paint so I’m going to do artwork. I got mud on the hems of my navy work pants and sweated through my work shirt, but I’ll hang them up to dry now. Good as new!

 

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

1 thought on “Having a #retail #associate gig is like having a bad, #bootycall boyfriend”

  1. I wasn’t going to do this, but Charlie said I should at least ask to be reimbursed for 2 hours. Actually the first thing he said was I should file a formal complaint, but I’m not going to do that.

    If there aren’t fixed schedules though, seriously, companies ought to be required to notify you of schedule changes at least a day in advance, and pay a kill fee if they don’t. This will likely make my next couple shifts a bit tense to downright unpleasant, but he’s right: if I don’t speak up for myself I’ll just continue to get jerked around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

