Gets back into bed with laptop

If I’d been more disciplined last night I could’ve totally gotten in a workout today, since I’m getting a ride & don’t have to do the 90-minute version of the 2.5 mile commute, but… Meh. Thinks back to the entrenched guilt of the Cult days. Back then my teacher & shala mates would know if I’d skipped. It’s still hard for me to believe that I paid $240 a month for yoga ten years ago, without blinking. What would that be now, $325 monthly? And that wasn’t even for 24/7 access year round. When you pay for ashtanga, you’re lucky to get 5-6 days a week access (depending on the moon schedule), past 10am, except when the teacher is: sick, on vacation, getting paid to be in two places at one time (doing a workshop elsewhere). Yoga Sutra was awesome back in the day, before Greg screwed over Christopher, only later to be shafted himself but there’s karma for you. There were two teachers, going from 6:30 to I think it was 11:30am, so if you had a day off work you didn’t still have to get up at 5 to get your fix in. That blissful situation didn’t last long, and these days AYNY can only exist in Brooklyn.

These days I’m so apathetic about everything that I’m on a 4x a week exercise plan. It’s just as easy to eat less on days I’ve got a retail shift. I used to be able to get up at 5am sharp to get in a yoga practice before a 7 or 8 hours of work but that was when I was doing design. I guess lazy & flabby goes along with unskilled labor for me.

I know regular yoga would still be good for me, but I could only manage it if I had a group, and I don’t have the budget for that.

Thinks about meditation.

Doesn’t meditate.

At least this year I will finish a themed group of 16 illustrations. There’s something.

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

