Amazing #vegan (mozzarella) #cheese recipe

OK… Any aspiring vegans out there know the problem of finding cheese substitutes in the market. There are some good ones but you either have to waste money trying things out or (better yet) read reviews before you try. Likes: Chao sliced cheese is excellent for sandwiches. Daiya is great shredded and inside stuff (burritos for example). It’s ok on pizza but if you use too much of it, you get a gummy, sticky mess.

I’ve been getting more adventurous lately, making the base level ingredients. I saw a video of vegan mozzarella making & it looked pretty easy. Last time Charlie & I were at the grocery store we picked up some pizza dough. We’d had the tapioca flour waiting.

First I made the cheese and then it sat for awhile, cooling in the pan, while I prepared the dough and some asparagus for roasting. It did get pretty thick & the glops I ladled onto the dough were robust. There was no way to tiny glop it. I was worried it’d be disgusting. No! It was fantastic, just a plain cheese pizza (rosemary dough & a simple, store bought, organic pasta sauce for the red).

It was better than the last pizza at the only decent, night-time kinda restaurant I’ve found in Portland thus far, Portobello. It was miles and miles and miles better than the sad, dried-out melba toasts they serve as vegan slices at Sizzle Pie.

This shit is going to make the best vegan mac & cheese ever…. We’ve got about a cup & a half of it left over from last night’s pizza. I think I’m going to do a pasta with it tonight, if we don’t go out.

Next project will be home made seitan, I think. I find the store bought varieties to be too dense, not like the seitan I used to order at Caravan of Dreams… I also wanna try making some vegan parmesan. I’ve found a decent one by Follow Your Heart, but the tiny jars are expensive.


Vegan Mozzarella

  • 1c raw, unsalted cashews
  • 1 3/4c water
  • 2 TBSP nutritional yeast
  • 6 TBSP tapioca flour
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Soak the cashews for an hour or overnight. I soaked for 2 nights cause I put off the cooking a day. When ready, drain & toss into a blender w/ all the other ingredients.

Cook in a medium sized saucepan on medium high heat, stirring fairly constantly. It’s like making popcorn on the stovetop. You’ve gotta pay attention. Little lumps will start to form as it thickens. Cook about 7min, turning down the heat a bit toward the end. Voila!

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

