I’ve been obsessed with #buttons for two days! #InDesign #animate

Since I’m redesigning my resume & making myself an artful, interactive PDF from InDesign, I’m going for a bunch of things at once, getting more familiar with the web aspects of Indesign and making a file that would appeal to digital design geeks. This in spite of the fact that the real campaign coming up is for hand painted textiles. I’ll sell it all at once! I hope.

I spent like 4/5 hours yesterday torturing myself. I’d program just 2 actions per button but the sound action would NOT stick through a copy & paste of the objects. I added them to Object Styles, but no. Sometimes the links would vanish. And sound! I got the idea that I wanted a little click sound. Watched a tutorial & went through all the hell making a nav bar for 3 pages, only to find there is no way to hide the ugly sound file graphic that’ll show up on the PDFs and possibly when printed.

Then I did enough googling to come to the conclusion that there isn’t a great solution, and if you want sound in your InDesign buttons you better make them in another app. When I first explored web apps, just a little, Macromedia owned Flash & the button app was Fireworks. It was in Creative Cloud at first but you knew they were going to kill it and sure enough, I checked & it’s gone. I think Animate must be the button machine…

But I’m not allowed to screw around with that endlessly today. I have to get a draft of a printable resume done by Thursday, so I can zap it out Thursday, and I have other things to do. I owe at least one Illustration session to the ongoing project. I can’t believe I’m down to the last two goddesses! I might get some more work, doing borders and cropping, if there’s the budget for that.

I have to work on formatting my experience and skills… But that’s after 2 hours with my CIB (Classroom in a Book). I’ve had the InDesign one for a couple months now. First I worked my way through Muse. I should expert myself up some more though. I know Illustrator the best, followed closely by Photoshop. The goal is to get through the InDesign book and use Animate some more. I went through a CIB on Animate too…

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

