Well, a non jumping workout is almost like a rest day right?

I’ve been working hard and my legs have been quite sore, but I hate taking rest days. I’m afraid of the Franz Kafka rest days. I still have to be smart. The last thing I’d want would be to tweak myself out. (Now that I’m not an ashtangi this is a rare occurrence, which is a much better situation than “nearly all the time, in multiple places”). SO GLAD I discovered HIIT. That made quitting what’d become a bad habit much easier. Moving on is much happier than merely abstaining.

BodyRock – 50 Mins Ass & Leg HIIT Workout

(10/50) I didn’t need to do 12/50 b/c of using ankle weights rather than double duty with the weighted vest.

This is a low burn routine but it’s ok. All the squat pulses get into the glutes after awhile. I find it hard to feel the glutes working unless I “hammer them” and this did it. Lisa was sweating a lot in the video but she looked like she’d warmed up a lot before hand, and maybe did a full cardio workout. I liked it though. I added a second, 12min burnout of my own, since I figured I might as well finish off the inner & outer thighs and I was “dressed for it”.

IMG_8660.JPG

ankle weights & weighted vest, bench

  • Squat & squat pulse: 2 squats & either 2 or 4 pulses
  1. SL leg balance: 15lbs, knee lift / side lift & SL shoulder press, same arm as leg lifting
  2. Other side
  3. Standing knee in & kick straight back lean on desk & get almost perpendicular
  4. Other side
  5. Stationery squat & lateral raise 20lbs, can do SA
  6. Other side
  7. Press out squat 15lbs Holding 1 weight in both hands. Squat (maybe deep goblet?) & press straight out in 2 pulses.
  8. Curtsy pulse, 15lbs, weight on shoulder. Pulse back twice & then come forward with a knee lift. Lisa offers a shoulder press version but I opted to keep weight on shoulder.
  9. Other side
  10. Standing leg Use desk for balance & lean slightly into it
  11. Other side
  12. Plie squat & press 30lbs
  • Lunge two, pulse two. Alternate sides. Start with R leg forward. Do right & left and then
  1. Squat in & out, 30llbs, stepping out to alternate sides
  2. Kick outs Leaning over (use desk). Straight leg raises out at an angle, keeping toe pointed to the floor
  • Squat & squat pulse, keeping feet close together
  1. Other side
  2. Standing kick backs At desk again. Lift & squeeze & hold
  3. Other side
  4. SL deadlift opp arm from leg holding weight. All the way to the floor if I can.
  5. Other side
  • Plie squat & pulse
  1. Deadlift 30lbs

Bonus 6min

  1. Donkey kick, on forearms & knees
  2. other side
  3. Hydrant
  4. other side
  5. Pulse up foot pressing flat toward ceiling
  6. other side

Extra bonus (I wrote)

  1. Lying leg lift L
  2. Inner thigh L
  3. Lying leg lift R
  4. Inner thigh R
  5. L-shaped top leg pulse to the front L
  6. Inner thigh L
  7. L-shaped top leg pulse to the front R
  8. Inner thigh R
  9. Knee in & kick leg back & out L
  10. Inner thigh pulse L
  11. Knee in & kick leg back & out R
  12. Inner thigh pulse R

Asana

  • Sirsasana, 5min (2&4 in backbend)
  • Bhujangasana
  • Paschimo
  • Marichy A
  • Ardha matseyen (var.)
  • Eka pada sirsasana (30/30)
  • Dwi pada sirsa (RL in first & then repeated LL in first)
  • Strapped & weighted virasana
  • Supta virasana
  • Malasana
  • Savasana
Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

