It’s a good time to practice razor focus & thought control #election2016 #hermetics

So now I’ve read through the first couple chapters of Franz Bardon’s Initiation Into Hermetics, the theory and the first chunk of the practical exercises. I haven’t started practicing any of them yet exactly, though with my background in yoga and meditation  – not to mention minor dabblings in witchcraft, herbology, tarot, candle magic, gemstones and essential oils etc. –  I’m definitely already out of the starting gate. I’ve been meditating daily since October 9th or 10th this stint. Usually it’s 22min but sometimes, like today, it’s 40.

initiation-into-hermetics-1

INITIATION II – THE PRACTICE OF MAGIC

Each exercise to be practiced at least 14 days (for those with some prior development) before moving onto the next. You start with 5min twice daily and then add 1min per day until you’re at 10min twice daily.

  • Thought control

    • This is more like thought observance, but it’s different from my seated meditation because you’re supposed to see what you remember AFTER. I tried it once after my morning sit. It’s surprisingly hard! I will have to add it though, when I start my hermetics project for real. I’m just waiting until after the birth stage of my current thing.
  • Thought discipline

    • This talks about performing all tasks with complete awareness, and what THAT means repeatedly pushing away any thoughts that have nothing to do with the task at hand. Unless you’re a US politician that means you shouldn’t be thinking about what just happened here. I was reminding myself of that this morning: BatcaveFocus on something else! Something you’ve selected as personally relevant. I decided to think before practicing the banishing ritual. That’s right. Morning’s are my favorite study time.
  • Mastery of thoughts

    • This is about avoiding thoughts! It’s the closest to the seated meditation I already practice. When I first learned formal, seated meditation (29 years ago, age 20) I developed a technique for myself of moving my inner awareness in a clockwise fashion around my area of focus.This was the edge of the nostrils, watching the breath, as per a very traditional method.
    • Outrunning my thoughts? It would help me get away from the verbal language thoughts anyway, not sensory impressions or strong emotions.

That’s six weeks of specific work right there, and I need to keep a detailed, hand written journal. What I really want is this though of course I can’t have it. I’ll be forced to use a recycled notebook because poor.

journal

I consoled myself with the thought that the fancy journal is made with leather, and though my diet has returned to the dark side, it doesn’t mean I should be supporting that industry.

I’ll need all my notes for the self analyses exercises of the next section.

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

