Uggg…. I wish yoga were 1/4 as consistent in effect as HIIT

I’ve discovered that I have to do more regular yoga if I want my neck tweak to keep progressing in the right direction, but today I think I started too late in my biorhythmic cycle. We’re getting into the dead of winter with The Darkness, and I just wasn’t in the mood. Whereas some days, a mere not-even 6min of jump rope intervals can push my heart rate into a good point that’ll carry through a practice, today the effects of 20min of HIIT vanished within 10min and my heartrate dropped into the 90s. So after the first 3 poses of primary I basically stopped. Did 3 urdhva Ds at the wall, finishing to the headstands and a few more things that felt necessary.

I started late because I’ve decided (don’t laugh) I need to be (a lot more) strict about a 4-hour, artistic work day, five days a week. And the thing about working out and exercising in the same small room is that there is NO leaving whatever set-up around. I have to draw until I’m done and clean everything up immediately.

At least I worked up a good sweat in the first 20 minutes and got some physical therapy in. That’s all I can say for it! I know that ideally I’d exercise earlier but things have to come in the order of importance for me not to short circuit it all: meditation, art, exercise.

IMG_9667.JPG

20min HIIT with jumprope

  • (10/50), no vest. I wrote this one as a yoga warm-up
  1. Pull-ups
  2. Pull-ups
  3. Chin-ups
  4. Chin-ups
  5. Pinca Mayurasana
  6. Vrischikasana-ish
  7. Ustrasana @ wall
  8. Anjenayasana
  9. Other side
  10. Plank, alt knee in & to opp shoulder (feet elevated)

Yoga

  • Sucked today.

 

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

