Who the hell knows how long this workout took me? Was fun tho.

Ya, ya I was supposed to do astanga but I felt like I wouldn’t be able to keep my blood out of my feet today, “moving”, in other words. HIIT is much more reliable in its physiological and emotional effects, and sans monitor still I decided to follow along with a Julia routine without previewing. I ended up taking forEVER, stopping after each section to jot down notes. Hey who cares how long it takes me if it’s not in the stats? 🙂

I’m very pleased Julia got ankle weights because I love using mine. I bought them way back for the constant rehabilitation of my previously impervious knees, which kicked in after about 2.5 years of full 3rd series. I use them mainly for inner & outer thighs & glute work, so they’re a little heavy for me for ab work involving extended legs. Plus I just did some of that yesterday! Definitely pushes me out of my comfort zone.

Holiday Happiness Workout by Jori

Warm-up: 10 reps each
– Jumping Jacks (for Joy)
– Squats (for Presents)
– Lunges (Reindeer Pulling Santa’s Sleigh)
– Push-up Rotations (Looking to the Sky waiting for Santa)

Melting Frosty (x 2) 50:10 10 mins with 8lb vest, which I regretted when I got to move 5!
1.Wide Bicep Curl + Press Outs (Twig Arms) 20
2.Bent Over (button) Rows (Jacket/Coat) 40
3.Diagonal Cross Body Front Raises (alt R/L) (Scarf) 20
4.Tricep OH Extensions (Hat blows off) 20
ball block squeeze (bet thighs) diamond Push-ups

The Grinch’s Legs (x 2) 10 reps each with 8lb vest
1.Sumo Squats + 4 Sumo Pulses 30
2.Pendulum Lunges Right on Sliders 3 pulses 30 / 20
3.Pendulum Lunges Left on Sliders 3 pulses
4.Deadlifts 30/40 When I don’t preview a workout I find myself stopping after every set to take notes. I’m especially bad today when I’m still sans monitor. 

The Star of David (Tabata Pair: (4 min) 20:10 x 8) with 8lb vest
1.Star Jump Burpee Box Jumps
2.Plank Jack Toe Touch

Santa’s Bowl Full Of Jelly (x 2)
With ankle weights. I think mine are about 4lbs per leg. I think each of the little bags is 1lb & I’ve got 4 of 6 filled.
1.10 Ball Block Passes
2.20 Flutter Kicks
3.10 Side to Side V-ups MAN are these hard w/ 2 ankle weights. I’d started out handicapping by holding a 3lb weight bet feet and that’s a big difference. Then I moved up to a 5lb (sometimes, not always). 
4.10 elevated Commandos

The Menorah’s Shine (Tabata Pair: (4 min) 20:10 x 8) No vest
1.Candle Stick Burpee
2.Split low Jack Lunges (1/2 a Jumping Jack into a Rev. Lunge Right, 1/2 Jump Jack into a Rev. Lunge Left) I’m not too good at getting my vest on & off quickly (it’s a cheap one which might be the problem), so I held a 5lb weight in each hand @ my hip crease for these.

Home Alone: Kevin’s Booby Traps (x 2) 50:10 6 mins
1.Agility: In, In, Out, Out (over step, Bosu, Bench, or just on floor like a ladder)
2.High Knees Side to Side Laterally (L-R) to end of Mat with Lunge back touch down hitch kick
3.Big Hurdle: Burpee w/ Push-up and into lunge and pike jump Was really bad at this one! I can barely do the pike jump starting with both legs together. I took off my vest for the 2nd set & since I’d mistakenly alternated the lunge legs 1st time thru kept that. I’m marginally better when it’s the LL back.

6 Min AMRAP  (5 reps each exercise) No vest
1. Broad Jump Forward + Tricep Push-up + 4 Plank jack Shoulder Taps + Bear Crawl Back
2. Oblique Plank Hops w/ 3 OH Swings 15
3. 8 Mt. Climbers (I did mine 1+1=2) + x 2 Lateral hop Plyo Push-Ups (L/R)

Bootyful Legs and Butt Burnout:50:10 2x Stay on one leg for first round then switch for the second round: with ankle weights
1.Donkey kicks (ceiling stomps)
2.Straight leg lifts
3.Fire hydrants
4.Plank kick unders and toe touch
5.Crab toe touch

Some yoga poses

I’ll try to do a serious practice tomorrow. Maybe I should go ahead & order a new monitor from Amazon today, in case the battery doesn’t work on the situation Tues…

Author: Boodiba

Artist, Designer

Leave a Reply

